Universal Magazines

Recently the Design Institute of Australia – Australia’s only professional, multi-disciplinary design organisation – inducted six new notable designers as members of The DIA Hall of Fame for 2009 at The Treasury Club, Sydney Town Hall, on Friday April 23. The formal announcement was made at the private cocktail function and then later celebrated at the Interior Design Awards Dinner at the Sydney Town Hall. The new members are Derek Wrigley, and Fred Ward [posthumously] from ACT, Alma Maccallum, David Davenport, Donald Goodwin and Edward Healy from New South Wales.

In making the announcement, Joanne Cys, National President of the Design Institute, explained that, “The Hall of Fame was established in 1995 as part of the Victorian Design Awards to highlight the work of Victorian designers, at all career levels and over a broad range of design disciplines. The program highlights the significant contribution made to Australia’s economic and cultural development by a dynamic design profession. In 2006 the program became national and included designers throughout Australia”, she said.

Publish at: , last modify at: 03/05/2010

If you enjoyed this, sign up to our mailing list

Privacy policy