The Dreamweaver Design competition, now in it’s seventh year, has become a major part of the curriculum for RMIT University’s final year Textile Design students. The Award aims to highlight Australian Textile Design, and specifically the talent of our young Australian Textile Designers, which is of world standard. In addition, the Award endeavours to expose the great ability we have to manufacture and produce fabrics and furniture for the Australian furnishing industry that are sold and distributed not only locally, but throughout the world.

The winner of this year’s Award will receive a fully paid trip to Belgium to visit the major textiles trade show, MoOD (formerly Decosit), with accommodation and airfares paid by Warwick Fabrics.

Entrants for the award must design a woven upholstery fabric suitable for domestic furniture and present their concept to a panel of industry representatives. Three finalists will be selected during the first round of judging on 9th June. These three finalists will then work with the Warwick design team before visiting Beaulieu Pacific Textiles to have their fabric commercially woven. The woven designs will then be manufactured into a piece of upholstered furniture by Colby Furniture, Molmic and Nicholls Design prior to the final round of judging which will take place on 21st July during which the winner will be determined.

With entries for the 2010 Dreamweaver Design Award closing on 8th June, students have less than a month to finalise and submit their entries.

The winner will be announced at the 2010 Dreamweaver Design Award Presentation on August 4th 2010 at the Warwick Fabrics Showroom in Collingwood.

(Fabrics shown here designed by Laura Labrin, Dreamweaver Design Award Winner 2009)